Guest Review: Lost and Found Sisters by Jill Shalvis

Title: Lost and Found Sisters
Series: Wildstone #1
Release Date: June 20, 2017
Publisher: William Morrow
Source: Publisher
Pages: 400
Guest Reviewer: Marie
Rating: 4.5 Stars
Add to Goodreads
From New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis comes her first women's fiction novel—an unforgettable story of friendship, love, family, and sisterhood—perfect for fans of Colleen Hoover, Susan Mallery, and Kristan Higgins.

They say life can change in an instant… 

After losing her sister in a devastating car accident, chef Quinn Weller is finally getting her life back on track. She appears to have it all: a loving family, a dream job in one of L.A.'s hottest eateries, and a gorgeous boyfriend dying to slip an engagement ring on her finger. So why does she feel so empty, like she's looking for a missing piece she can't find?

The answer comes when a lawyer tracks down Quinn and reveals a bombshell secret and a mysterious inheritance that only she can claim. This shocking revelation washes over Quinn like a tidal wave. Her whole life has been a lie.

On impulse, Quinn gives up her job, home, and boyfriend. She heads up the coast to the small hometown of Wildstone, California, which is just a few hours north, but feels worlds apart from Los Angeles. Though she doesn't quite fit in right away, she can't help but be drawn to the town’s simple pleasures…and the handsome, dark-haired stranger who offers friendship with no questions asked.

As Quinn settles into Wildstone, she discovers there's another surprise in store for her. The inheritance isn't a house or money, but rather something earthshattering, something that will make her question everything she thought she knew about herself, about her family. Now with a world of possibilities opening up to Quinn, she must decide if this new life is the one she was always meant to have—and the one that could finally give her the fulfillment she's searched so long for.


Marie's Thoughts
Having read plenty of Jill Shalvis in the past, I knew this was going to be a good book. I knew it was going to touch on my emotions and that it was going to be a deep read. What I wasn’t planning on, however, was such a powerful story of love, loss and discovery, and the overwhelming decisions that life’s unexpected curveballs throw at you when you least expect them.

Ms. Shalvis is an exceptional storyteller. She knows how to bring a character to life and draw you in to them, like you’ve known them forever. Every moment in Quinn’s life that I was privy to in Lost and Found Sisters felt like something that I was going through as well. From the loss of her sister, to the shocking discovery of a life she never knew she was a part of, and right through the decision to throw away the life she thought she wanted, leading her to the life she never knew she needed.

I thoroughly enjoyed my visit to Wildstone, the cozy little beach town I never knew I wanted to visit. It is charming and beautiful, and the perfect setting for romance. So when Quinn met Mick, I was enamored with their sweet, fun romance. I didn’t mind the fact that Ms. Shalvis shied away from her usual detail of the characters intimate moments. It made the story feel less like a typical romance and more like a feel good kind of story.

The secondary characters in this story were some of the best I’ve read in a while, and I truly enjoyed their character development. So much so that I’m looking forward to their stories in the books to come.

This really was a wonderful story. I’m thrilled to see what’s in store next.

I voluntarily read a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and feelings are my own.

No comments:

Post a Comment